Live Stream

Harmonie St. Michaël Thorn and Calefax Reed Quintet

A unique collaboration between the European Champion Wind Band and the world-famous reed quintet

wednesday 13 juli 2022
20:15 - 22:45
Kerkrade Theater
From € 25.00

Harmonie St. Michaël van Thorn has won the Concert Division of the WMC no less than three times. Critics praise time and again the broad, symphonic sound with which the reigning European champion distinguishes itself. This evening they share the stage with the Calefax Reed Quintet, known for over thirty years as one of the world's leading wind ensembles. Harmonie St. Michaël, under the direction of Ivan Meylemans, and Calefax present an evening of Havelaar, Cruijff and the Rosenkavalier.

Max Havelaar - Marijn Simons (1982)

Names of leading contemporary Dutch composers from the symphonic world are missing from repertoire lists for wind orchestra. Harmonie St. Michaël van Thorn will not stop there and will challenge a renowned composer each year to write for wind orchestra. The first result comes from Marijn Simons. In early 2022 he completed his first work for large wind band, entitled Max Havelaar. He found his inspiration for this symphonic poem in the book of the same name by Multatuli (Eduard Douwe Dekkers) from 1863. 

Rosenkavalier Suite - Richard Strauss (1864-1949)

Based on a libretto by Austrian writer Hugo von Hofmannsthal, Richard Strauss wrote the lighthearted opera Der Rosenkavalier. Lyrical moments, simple melodies and laughable situations follow one another. The dress-up and amorous scenes in the opera are reminiscent of an operetta, with a silver rose as the attribute and sign of the marriage proposal that is the focal point. The arrangement for wind orchestra of this suite is by Jos van de Braak.

Un Momento Dado - Johan de Meij (1956)

This work by the world famous composer Johan de Meij is an ode to Johan Cruijff. It is a reference to Cruijff's willfulness and enthusiasm, qualities that De Meij sees in Calefax Reed Quintet. De Meij derived the title from the words 'en un momento dado' which Cruijff used during a press conference in his Catalan years. In the work, the reed quintet and the wind orchestra alternate fluidly in a concerto grosso-like manner and sometimes march together.

Tiento del primer tono y batalla imperial - Cristóbal Halffter (1930-2021)

Halffter was a leading Spanish composer and conductor. His compositions often incorporated traditional Spanish music, which he combined with avant-garde techniques. Tiento del primer tono y batalla imperial was commissioned by the Basel Symphony Orchestra in 1986. Halffter used two old Spanish organ pieces as the basis for the piece: Tiento del primer tono by Antonio de Cabezon (1510-1566) and Batalla imperial by Duan Battista Cabanilles (1644-1717). The arrangement for wind orchestra by Franco Hänle premiered at the 2009 WMC Kerkrade.


Harmonie St. Michael Thorn conducted by Ivan Meylemans

Calefax rietkwintet

Max Havelaar, Symphonic poem for wind orchestra opus 92 (premiere) - Marijn Simons

Suite from Der Rosenkavalier - Richard Strauss, arr. Jos van de Braak


Un Momento Dado - Johan de Meij

Soloists: Calefax rietkwintet

Tiento del primer tono y batalla imperial - Cristóbal Halffter, arr. Franco Hänle

Soloists: Calefax rietkwintet

This concert is made possible by Fonds Podiumkunsten (FPK).